top of page

Joyful Days at JASY


The theme today for JASY Camp was Joy! We spent the whole day asking campers and volunteers what makes them happy. In the Caribbean Games Venue we asked that exactly that question, “What makes you happy?” We heard many answers like family, friends, swimming, football, food, helping others, and JASY camp! Following that they played games that made them happy!

At Olympic Village we had the campers make thank you cards to express things that made them happy to our many donors! They had so much fun making the cards and showing them to our volunteers and other campers!

Both Football and Swimming helped teach the campers techniques and skills that brought them more joy than you could ever imagine.

Emmalie Drake talked to us all today about her experience at JASY camp! “This trip has exceeded my already high expectations. I loved this trip two years ago and I love it now. As a Yellow Team Sports Ambassador I have a unique relationship with the girls since I get to spend the whole day with them. This year the girls are absolutely wonderful and participate in every venue. Today the Yellow Team’s day started off with Olympic Village, which is where we do crafts, and they wrote what makes them joyful on cards. The girls’ cards had every color of the rainbow and beautiful pictures. One girl however wrote as her response to what makes her happy, “My Friend Emmalie.” This touched my heart, it was so sweet and it made my day. Later on my team had swimming and I decided to help with their swim lessons today. The girls absolutely loved this, their faces lit up. They were all calling me over to show me their new swimming skills they had learned. It makes me so unbelievably happy to watch these girls grow over this week, and I can’t wait for the last two days of JASY camp!”

Will Marsh also told us about his trip, “So far this trip has been a great experience for me. I have had an enjoyable time with these kids. Seeing their joy when they come to camp amazes me, considering some of these kids living situations. They are always joyful. It has been very cool to be a Sports Ambassador and be with all of the kids. They are always asking what venue we are doing next because they especially love the pool and soccer. The camp has brought me so many memories I will never forget. One of my favorite memories was when one of my campers, Kymar, gave me his bracelet for my birthday. These kids hardly have anything but they are so kind and will give you the little they have. JASY has been a fantastic and eye-opening experience I will remember for the rest of my life.”

Today was Will Marsh’s 16th Birthday and we had a special party for him with all the Jamaican volunteers! What fun! Look for our daily update tomorrow!


bottom of page